Marijuana legislation has made significant strides in recent years. Legislators have passed laws easing the restrictions on obtaining medical marijuana cards, a necessary move that enables individuals to get the pain relief they need.
Arkansas is no different. In 2016, state voters passed Issue 6, which implemented the majority of the Arkansas’ medical cannabis program. The ballot measure, which amended the state constitution and went into effect in November 2016, permits the legal use of medical marijuana. It also created the legal framework for medical marijuana and the Medical Marijuana Commission.
Since that time, Arkansas’ medical cannabis industry has skyrocketed. The Medical Marijuana Commission has licensed five cultivators and 32 retail dispensaries. So far, approximately 12,000 individuals have registered for the medical marijuana program.
Under the Arkansas medical marijuana program, individuals that are registered by a licensed physician are allowed to buy marijuana from Arkansas dispensaries, possess marijuana and associated products within the state and consume marijuana within Arkansas.
Registering for the program gets you an Arkansas medical marijuana card. But what are the steps behind getting the card?
The basic qualifications for a medical marijuana card include being 18 years of age (or having parental consent if under 18), being an Arkansas resident with proof of residency, having a diagnosis of a qualifying condition and having a written certification from a physician.
First, you must find a doctor who can provide a certified recommendation for a medical marijuana card. Click here to a list of certified doctors. Arkansas Marijuana Card can connect individuals with certified doctors and fill out any necessary paperwork.
When applying for a medical marijuana card, applicants need an application form, the physician certification, a photocopy of an Arkansas-issued ID, and a nonrefundable $50 application fee.
The doctor must confirm that the applicant suffers from a qualifying condition and recommend medical marijuana as a treatment. There are a number of qualifying conditions. These include”
- HIV/AIDS positive status
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe arthritis
- Alzheimer’s disease
- A medical condition/treatment that produces one of the following:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Intractable pain
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Severe nausea
Once you have obtained a doctor’s recommendation, you can apply for an identification card with the Arkansas Department of Health. If approved, you should receive the card within 30 days of your application.
This process can be reduced to three easy steps. Schedule an appointment through Arkansas Marijuana Card with a doctor and visit AMC’s office for your medical evaluation. With the doctors recommendation, you will register with the Arkansas Department of Health and wait to receive your card.