‘Tis the season to stop if you see a school bus. It’s Arkansas law. School for most Arkansas school children began today, and there is no better reminder than the present with school buses going to and fro. Kids will be in this routine for another 180 days, give or take a few, and it is your lawful obligation to stop.
Remember, “Flashing Red, Kids Ahead.”
Here are the specifics of the law from the Taylor King Law.
When a bus stops and flashes its red lights, all drivers – coming from both directions – must come to a complete stop. Drivers must remain stopped until the bus is in motion again.
Breaking the law can carry severe consequences. Passing a bus while its lights are on can lead to a fine of $250-$1000, up to 90 days in jail, driver’s license suspension of 21 days to 1 year, and up to 400 hours of community service, according to Isaac’s Law.
Be safe and let’s make it an accident-free school year, from your friends/parents at Vowell, Inc.